NAAFI’s Governance

As an arm’s length body of the Ministry of Defence, NAAFI operates as a commercial company led by a Board of Directors that follow the corporate code and remain legally responsible for the Company.

NAAFI Board of Directors

Steve Marshall OBE

Chief Executive Officer

Steve Marshall joined the Board in 2011 as Operations Director and was appointed Chief Executive in 2016.

Steve enjoyed a long career with Tesco in the UK after joining their management scheme, before transferring to their international business department in the late 1990s. He led new store development in Central Europe before joining NAAFI in 2006.

Kris Murali

Chief Financial Officer

Kris Murali joined the board in March 2024 as Chief Financial Officer.

Kris enjoyed a long career in senior positions both in the private and not-for-profit sectors. Prior to joining NAAFI, Kris was the Director of Finance & Resources at The Scout Association and before that served as Deputy Chief Executive at the national charity Sense. Kris also holds non-executive director roles.

Lieutenant General Richard Nugee CB CVO CBE

Non-Executive Director and NAAFI Chair

Lieutenant General Richard Nugee CB CVO CBE served in the Army from 1985 to 2021. He served on numerous operational tours while at the same time focussing on personnel (HR) roles within the Army and Ministry of Defence, latterly spending 4 years as Chief of Defence People (i.e. Defence Global HR Director) responsible for central policy for all Service personnel, their families, all Defence Civil Servants and the nation’s veterans. In March 2020 he took on a review of Defence’s approach to climate change and is continuing as the Ministry of Defence’s Climate Change Non-Executive Director.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, a Chartered Fellow of the CIPD, a Companion of the Chartered Management Institute, and is Chair and Trustee of several charitable trusts.

Alan Smith CBE, FRAeS

Non-Executive Director

Alan Smith CBE, FRAeS joined the Board as Non-Executive Director in October 2006, having held several senior roles within the UK retail sector.

Alan was formerly Chairman of Robert Dyas, Chief Executive Officer of Somerfield Plc, Punch Taverns Plc, Boddingtons Plc, Evans Halshaw Holdings Plc, B&Q Plc and Superdrug Stores Plc. Alan is currently Chairman of ScS Group Plc and the Royal International Air Tattoo.

Margot Daly

Non-Executive Director

Margot Daly joined the Board in March 2020 as a Non-Executive Director.

Margot is a trustee at GamCare and a panel member at the Competition and Markets Authority. Margot also serves as an independent business advisor primarily in the media and technology sectors.

Previously, Margot held Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer positions in FTSE listed and privately held companies, served as a non-executive director at Sport Resolutions and as a panel member at the UK Competition Appeal Tribunal. Margot holds a Master’s Degree in competition economics from King’s College London with a focus on digital markets, blockchain and distributed ledger technologies.

David Hamilton FCA

Non-Executive Director

David joined the Board in June 2022.

David is a chartered accountant, who previously worked at KPMG before moving on to senior financial roles in the healthcare and retail industries. He is currently the Finance Director of BFBS, the organisation which provides TV, Radio, Cinema, Live Entertainment and Trading services to the UK Armed Forces globally.

David is a member of the NAAFI Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees.


NAAFI Council

The NAAFI Council, made up of MOD appointed senior officials, acts as the highest level of governance to the NAAFI Board and approves its strategic direction.

The Council members are:

NAAFI Leadership Team

Steve Marshall OBE


Kris Murali


Garreth Weston

Business Director

John Goddard

Trading Director

Mary Pittuck

Director of People